Mellifont Abbey

Mellifont Abbey

In 1142, Irish and French monks settled in this remote corner and founded Ireland’s first Cistercian abbey, which was Ireland’s largest abbey until it was closed in 1539. The architectural forms created by a French architect were new to Ireland and influenced many future monastery buildings.

There is hardly anything left of the splendour of the former monastery. However, foundation remains give an idea of the former size. In the middle of the ruins stand out the remains of the lavatory, the monks’ well house. Four side walls of the octagonal structure still stand. Also preserved are the chapter house, the gatehouse and some arches of the cloister.

Mellifont Abbey Information


Irish name: An Mhainistir Mhór

3 hours
Admission

Mellifont Abbey Location


Mellifont Abbey Map
  • Get to Mellifont Abbey

Mellifont Abbey is located about 9 km west of Drogheda in County Louth.

Accommodation near Mellifont Abbey

  • B&Bs and Hotels near Mellifont Abbey

Discover the best B&Bs and Hotels near Mellifont Abbey. Find the perfect accommodation for a great stay.

Book now
  • Holiday Homes near Mellifont Abbey

Here you will find a wide range of holiday homes and holiday flats near Mellifont Abbey.

Book now

Things to see near Mellifont Abbey

Advertisement

Scroll to Top